Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Help and feedback on hand painted enviroment

andropof
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
andropof polycounter lvl 3
I'm learning how to texturing an environment in blender and krita for a videogame that I'm working on.

I'm a noob, so i need help. Could you tell me where I'm wrong, what to improve or maybe recommend me some tutorials on hand painting?

This is the texture i'm working on:

[SKETCHFAB]fccdf75252ee430786aeeb684f32be51[/SKETCHFAB]

I hope someone reply xD

Thanks for all.

Replies

• Tectonic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tectonic polycounter lvl 10
    whatever file type you're using is causing some noise on your texture when its compressed. is it jpg? try using png instead. also take another crack at where you put your roughed up (chipped?) edges, you have some in crevices that would probably be collecting grunge, and no roughness on other outer edges that probably get bumped and worn a lot. keep in mind how an object would be affected by its environment when texturing it. I like that you've got a couple cracks on there already, add a few more.
    its a good start, keep at it! :)
  • andropof
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tectonic wrote: »
    whatever file type you're using is causing some noise on your texture when its compressed. is it jpg? try using png instead. also take another crack at where you put your roughed up (chipped?) edges, you have some in crevices that would probably be collecting grunge, and no roughness on other outer edges that probably get bumped and worn a lot. keep in mind how an object would be affected by its environment when texturing it. I like that you've got a couple cracks on there already, add a few more.
    its a good start, keep at it! :)

Hi and thanks for the reply :)

This time I have tryed to add some more cracks and lights/shadows.
    I have also tryed to increase the number of details in the texture.