Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need critique - I feel stuck

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking polycount for a while now and I've been meaning to make this thread, because I'm a concept artist, but I don't know how to improve my work. Digital painting is my focus, but when I shoot for realism, my colors always end up feeling bland and I take a really long time to do anything compared to other artists.

Please take a look at my work on artstation > https://www.artstation.com/artist/xeoncat

I don't think I'm half bad, but I'm lagging behind other professionals and younger artists seem to pickup this stuff a lot faster than me. I just did this photo study warmup and I took 2 hours, and I feel really frustrated , and I've been feeling really stuck in this for a year at least, everyone else seems to be doing better than this in 2 minutes > https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/666005/xeoncat/newyork.jpg

So, any tips and critiques are more than welcome

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Hi pedro.

Welcome to the forums, I certainly know what it feels like to be suck on that plateau and not sure how to get off it.

Now I'm going to be making assumptions to your working habits and your understanding of theory, so correct me if i am wrong here. Also before you read this i want you to get a piece of paper, and see if you can look at that latest study, and list everything that you think should be better, and i think you will be surprised to see how much you already know of what I'm about to say.