Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Wooden axe

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Doxturtle polycounter lvl 8
This project is supposed to be a worn axe that has been used to chop wood. This is my first attempt at physically based texturing, so I am basically trying things until it looks decent. I obviously have a long way to go with this, I haven't working on the roughness of the wood yet, so it is not detailed or correct.

So far it looks decent in my opinion, but its definitely not to the standard I want.

LATEST:

GBaIM4O.png

[SKETCHFAB]64eacfbefdd2404083974b8751216b72[/SKETCHFAB]

Also btw I haven't abandoned my drill project. I had a couple hours free so I decided to get a small project started so I have something to put in my portfolio.

Replies

• WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It would be a far better portfolio piece if it told a story. Or had some visual history. Or something to make it more than an axe that just rolled off the assembly line.
  • Doxturtle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I tried to add wear and scratches to the front and the main body of the blade so that it looked like it had been used. I definitely need to add a lot more wear to the handle, but I haven't really focused on that yet. I was thinking about adding an engraved name or something to the handle, so that it looked like someone marked their name on it.
  • Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    The material for the axe head is too chrome like. It needs to be rougher.
  • Doxturtle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Turns out I am an idiot and didn't realize that my roughness map was inverted. It now looks slightly more correct :)
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My suggestion would be to take a turn through here and save any images that you think look cool or have good character or story to them. There are a million ways to make a hand axe cool: