Home General Discussion

Unexpectedly getting freelance work?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Higuy polycounter lvl 9
The run down: I'm primarily a level designer/game designer, while also doing some art. Recently a friend got hired by a company, company had position opening for a UX/Game Designer and I got interviewed. CEO wants me to help work on a project, but instead of coming on directly, wants to basically contract the work. He's asking for a daily rate and I really have no idea as I've never done this before. This will literally be my first game design job ever in the industry and I'm only a couple days out of college. Was kinda hoping the job would be in house, but I'm okay with this. I just gotta figure some stuff out.

This isn't more of a "what do I do", but rather, "how should I act next"? How do I establish a reasonable daily rate for this kind of work? I know its not art and you guys are primarily artists here... I'm assuming researching rates of course, which I've started, but I also have no industry experience besides my free, independent work I have done and I'm assuming I should take that into account.

A little nudge in the right direction here would be nice. Thanks!!

Replies

• MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    glassdoor your level and position (use other surveys you think you can trust). look for a salary calculator that'll convert yearly salary to hourly. Estimate how many hours you want to work per day. Factor in extra costs like software rentals, where on earth you're located, etc.

Just quote the highest rate you're comfortable asking. Be ready for the lowest rate you'll agree to in case you'll get negotiated down (plus/minus factors such as when you'll get paid, if direct deposit, check or bitcoin, is this person legit?)

Good luck.
  • KeirKieran
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KeirKieran polycounter lvl 3