Home Quixel Megascans

ANSWERED: Issue with 3DO and Toolbag 2.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
I think I'm going to use DDO to texture this gun I'm working on, having a few issues with the renderer though.

I'm targeting the asset for Toolbag 2, but I want to use DDO's renderer when in Photoshop to preview it, but my normals look all different in 3do. They look fine in Toolbag 2.

I'm using Maya to bake my maps.

Here's what I get in 3Do:

oMoJvS8.png

And here's what I get in Marmoset:

Yas4t8P.png

Replies

• MisterSande
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MisterSande polycounter lvl 8
    I have a similar problem. In 3DSMax/Toolbag the normals look fine but in 3DO the shading is completely off.
  • Hayden Zammit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I have a similar problem. In 3DSMax/Toolbag the normals look fine but in 3DO the shading is completely off.

Yeah, I can't figure it out either. I'm no expert, but I think it's because they both use different normal systems. Toolbag and Maya's seem to match perfectly, while 3Do seems to use something different.

Sorta makes Quixel less useful for me. Hopefully one of the Quixel devs can chime in.
  • RobeOmega
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10
    3DO never seems to do this for me.

Is this the normals from the model itself before a normal map is added or is it from the texture itself.

If it is with the normal map itself I had a problem similar to this when I was not using TGA images with 3DO. One simple way to find fix this is open your normal map in Photoshop and have it as the tabbed in window and go on 3DOs file browser and select the link picture next to the normal map and it should work.
  • Devil_Inside
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What file format are you using for your mesh?
  • RobeOmega
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10