Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Toon Steampunk Ironman: C&C and Questions

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
TomGT polycounter
Hey everyone, I recently finished this guy in anticipation for Age of Ultron. Although it is done, I do not mind getting critiques on his model/uvs/textures anything. It will help me improve my future work.

The model is made as a game asset, as something that would fit a toon handpainted environment like Wow and LoL.

Based on a concept art by Nikonov Aleksandr, with permission.

Sketchfab Link: https://skfb.ly/DYqV

Out of curiosity, does anyone know a good way to rig the cable/hose attached on his arm from the tank (without using dynamic systems)? I have him perfectly rigged except the hose. I'll appreciate it if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks guys!

GobLEO9.png

ksGDCDa.png

ironman_steampunk_by_niconoff-d87pc7f.jpg

Replies

• .nL
    Offline / Send Message
    .nL polycounter lvl 3
    I've very little rigging experience, but possibly a spline control along a chain of bones controlling the cable?

It's looking great. You've nailed the aesthetic. I might suggest that you add a few more tris to the shins, and check for unnecessary geometry that isn't contributing much to the silhouette, but those are just nitpicks. For the most part, it's superb.
  • BARDLER
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    Ha that looks awesome!

For the hose you could use a spline ik system similar to how you would rig a spine. For ropes and hoses this works great because the hose will maintain the smooth shape of the curve no mater how you pose it.
  • TomGT
    Offline / Send Message
    TomGT polycounter
    @.nL, BARDLER

Thanks! I was unsure how to tackle the shins at first, since I was aiming for a model below 10k tris. I'll see if I can experiment further on the shins.