Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Samurai Jack! [WIP]

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
bkost interpolator
Howdy Folks,

I'm excited to share my progress with you guys with my first Zbrush Character... All I've done so far is anatomy studies. So come along with me, this will be an exciting adventure!

I'm extremely new to the workflow of creating a character :O So any critique/advice will be greatly appreciated.

**Final Update**

3PeL4zT.jpg

And here's a link to a turntable of him http://bkost.tumblr.com/post/119710282360/samurai-jack-turntable

Lets start with some inspiration that I'm taking from...

TsttK9f.jpg

QL4F7kX.jpg

And here is the very basic mesh that I'm working on...

gtKtGrZ.jpg
His calf/feet need some fixing up

Replies

• TomGT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TomGT polycounter
    Hoo boy! Samurai Jack! Are you going for a realistic or toon look?

If you are going the realistic or even semi-realistic direction, I recommend finding an actor that might be suited to what you imagine he would look like.

Otherwise, be cautious of his silhouette since it looks like you're visualizing him with your own flair.

Looking forward to see how this turns out!
  • skodone
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skodone polycounter lvl 2
    yeah feet bottom and hips i would recheck
  • bkost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bkost interpolator
    @TomGT I'm going for a semi realistic sculpt of him, and thank you that's a great idea!
    Maybe like a Bruce Lee stature

Here is some daily progress

oZXP9w5.jpg
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    TomGT wrote: »
    If you are going the realistic or even semi-realistic direction, I recommend finding an actor that might be suited to what you imagine he would look like.
    David Carradine in Kung Fu might be a good choice. I suspect that's where Jack gets his big chin and eyebrows.