Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

futuristic racing jet or something

Bummer6
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Bummer6 polycounter lvl 13
This is my first attempt at hard surface modelling in maya, so I'm keeping it pretty simple. I would have liked to make panel lines on the fuselage to make it a bit more realistic, but I honestly don't know how to build that into the geometry without ruining the shape of it. I'm considering just making a heightmap with the panel lines and bake that into the final normal map for the low poly. Any constructive criticism is of course welcome!
bunnyboymk2.png
jetback1.png
problem.png

Replies

• Bummer6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Please tell me there's a better way to do this. I've been trying to make ailerons for the wings, but I get pinching and stuff in the corners and it just looks like crap in general.
    aileronshelp.png
  • brandoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brandoom polycounter lvl 13
    why don't you make the ailerons a separate mesh instead of trying to model it into the wing?
  • Bummer6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brandoom wrote: »
    why don't you make the ailerons a separate mesh instead of trying to model it into the wing?

They are separate, but I still need support edges to tighten up the corners.
    pinching.png
  • Bummer6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's another area with the same pinching problem. It's not very noticable, so if I don't get any replies I'm just going to ignore it. It feels like I'm missing something simple though. I guess I'll keep digging through the "how to model dem shapes" thread until I find something I can use to solve this issue.
    morepinching.png
  • Spoon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spoon polycounter lvl 11
    It looks like you would need a higher overall density, to make dem shapes
  • Mike8917
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mike8917 polycounter lvl 10