Home General Discussion

3D Artist Job Searching Questions

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
TomGT polycounter
Hey everyone!

I'm preparing myself to start job searching within a few months and I have a few questions which I hope the Polycount community can help answer. I intend to work as a 3D artist, preferably a character artist though I hear creating props and animation might be a better way to break into the game/movie industry.

So here we go:

- Do you apply for jobs you are under qualified for?
Say for example the job requires 1-2 years experience. I have zero professional work experience with a degree, a few internships and awards. Can a strong portfolio possibly make up for it as a 3D artist? Or will the employer most likely dismiss my folio without the required experience?

- How often do studios (more specifically those in America) hire 3D artists from overseas?
Again will a strong portfolio possibly convince a studio to do so?

- Do environment artists or animators carry over skills to eventually work as a character artist?

- Should you apply to multiple positions in the same company at once?

- How many months should I wait before I apply to the same company that rejected me?
My take on this is, as long as it takes to revamp your portfolio.

- For a game studio, should I include game modding inside my list of skills/others?

I made a mod that was highlighted by the game's youtube channel not too long ago. Though I used in-game models, I practically coded,game-designed, balanced etc all of it myself. Does this add to the 'enthusiastic about video games' criteria on most job criteria? Should I show this to companies that are not related to the game I modded for?

Phew, that was a hefty amount of text. Hope you guys can answer some of these. Any sort of insight is greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14