Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio Review] Stylized Environment Art - Student

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jakob Gavelli interpolator
Hi!

Two environments later and it's time for a power level check. I'm still a student but hopefully won't have to be for long. I'm hoping that my work make me stand out among the hundreds of other aspiring artists.

http://jakobgavelli.carbonmade.com/

-What's your initial thoughts when you enter the site?
-What do you think of the overall quality of what you see?

I removed the About page as I don't feel as if I have anything to put in it. Thoughts?

Would stuff like this qualify as experience? : http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=141122

UPDATE :

Help me swap pieces between Portfolio and Artstation.

Portfolio : http://jakobgavelli.carbonmade.com/
Artstation : http://www.artstation.com/artist/JakobGavelli

Replies

• Lucas Annunziata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
    The layout is pretty solid, although you may want to bring a bit more attention to your name. I really don't like the blue overlay rollover for the thumbnails, as it blocks the artwork that I'm about to see.

The work is good, but it is all stylized. It would be a good idea to get at least one realistic environment in there to show that you can make those kind of assets to make you more marketable.

While you're a student, it is good to show team projects that you've done with other people, especially if you communicate clearly what it is that you did for the project and your ability to solve problems within that project.
  • Ki Moon Roh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    how did you make that kind of home page? anyway, i love your work :)
  • Bedrock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bedrock polycounter lvl 10