Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low Poly Hand-Painted Sack

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Phrisk polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone! First post on Polycount.

A year ago I took my first Zbrush class, and made a coin sack as my first model ever. Not sure what inspired it but i will share it:

OYhPctw.png
It ended up being more like a sack of cylinders.

Anyway, It's winter break and decided to re-visit it. I've spent the year doing all sorts of different types of modeling and styles in school and now I've decided to pursue hand-painted low poly assets. I'm always inspired by the Torchlight games.

Here's my re-work. I'd love critique, as I am new to this style.

lydia-zanotti-ss1.jpg?1416548577
lydia-zanotti-sackcoinsbpr1.jpg?1416548580
hYrQpqM.jpg
lydia-zanotti-gradientmaps3.jpg?1420760110
lydia-zanotti-collage2.jpg?1420750603
lydia-zanotti-collage1.jpg?1420750743
lydia-zanotti-collage3.jpg?1420759295

Replies

• Cheeky_Pickle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cheeky_Pickle polycounter lvl 9
    Heya looks great! I'd be careful around the lip of the bag where the coins are spilling out, due to being low poly the coins are just a clump and it makes it obvious by having them tipping out. I'd say add more geometry to refine these few coins pushing out or just move them back a little to get rid of that edge.
  • Noren
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Noren polycounter lvl 19
    Looking good, but it sits between chairs.
    "Hand painted" seems to refer only to the diffuse and you kept the baked normals, although they and the painted parts are clearly different in some areas like the grass.
    Some parts have dark shadows painted in, while others like the grass or coins lack shadows.