Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Junior character artist portfolio needs critique

jaysonmtl
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
jaysonmtl polycounter lvl 10
Hi,
Im an aspiring junior character artist
I would love some critique from the polycount community.
Anybody else from Montreal willing to help out with some contacts to land a job interview :)

http://jasonkibbe.wix.com/character-artist

thanks

Jason

Replies

• bfalwcon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bfalwcon polycounter lvl 6
    Very fine work jaysonmtl. Those characters are looking very nice. It would be awesome to learn how you do things.
  • kodde
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kodde polycounter lvl 18
    Where can I download your resume as a PDF?
    Maybe add a link to your LinkedIn profile?
    Not a must, but I'd consider registering a proper domain. Doesn't cost a fortune.

You're work looks promising. I'd be surprised if it didn't get you some attention.
  • slosh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    Nice work Jason. As a jr artist, your work looks great! I think you should be able to land something with that. In the meantime, keep cranking new stuff out!
  • BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    Damn good portfolio for a JR. I think something that would really benefit you is some better lighting and presentation. All your characters are really flat lit which is killing any form you have sculpted in. Take at look at some of Kime's characters, http://www.pseudo-pod.com/, and notice the nice rim light, nice core shadow, and just how much all of his forms really pop because of it. Go read up on some photography lighting setups and just replicate it in Marmoset 2, and the nice thing is you can parent your lighting to your camera so as you rotate around you will always get the same lighting.