Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Beretta M9 - Highpoly

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Starkist polycounter lvl 9
Hi folks,

Another update, went on to improve the RBR material which I think now look a lot better, also, I'm trying to recreate the IBL shader marmoset has in Unity, I'm not really a shader programmer so I'm pretty limited in this area but I think it is an ok start.

IXifUkH.jpg
NUVUdsK.jpg

Thanks ahead,
Michael.

Replies

• Olli.
    Offline / Send Message
    Olli. polycounter lvl 8
    Im seeing a lot of mistakes in the model itself, and also lots of problems with the subdivision. Im not sure how accurate you intended the model to be, so ill just assume not very, and focus on the sub-D issues.

The first thing that hits my eye is the pinching on the grip (behind the mag release) and at the back of the slide. Especially the rounded back part of the slide is pretty hard to make usually since big round shapes with sharp cutouts are problematic to say the least in sub-d. The solution to this is the old sub-d mantra: ADD MORE GEO (refer to the sticky in Techical Talk forum)
    Coincientally ive also been working on a 92FS recently, so im going to use some screenshots as examples of how i decided to approach the problems I see in your model.
    Here is the topology of the back of my slide. The way i made this is:
    1) created the profile of the slide with a spline. With an extrude modifier you can get some visual feedback and still have the ease of tweaking the shape with the splines tangent controls.