Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Project Study [W.I.P.]

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
VGuerreiro polycounter lvl 8
Hello Polycount! I'm new around here, and I'm trying to improve some skills. I'm also kinda new to the game pipeline and 3D modeling in general.

I recently completed a degree in Cinema and Multimedia (which had very little 3D related classes) and I hope one day to get into the games industry.

As I hope to share knowledge and improve my work, crits and comments are always welcome!

For my first post I'm showing some W.I.P. on a humanized cat-like character I'm working on.

I will try to keep this model in under the 2500 polys budget and I might make him some clothing and props.

For now I'm hand modeling this as a practice exercise, I will be studying some mudbox sculpting further down the line.

This is the main body blockout:

ba5Tzfr.png

PR8ZxVo.gif

And here I have the hand model:

9eXu7sk.png
lZp1Oxz.png

Again, the full body but with the hands attached (still a lot of tweaking to do):

omuWD4S.png
71KEpEm.gif

Again, any comments, critics are very welcome :).

P.s.: I had this posted on my Digital Sketches thread, but I migrated this project here since I noticed all the other digital sketchbooks are more about 'actual sketches'.

Replies

• TheAxiom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheAxiom polycounter lvl 3
    It's great that you're starting from scratch, though you may not need to. A lot of artists nowadays use software like Mudbox and ZBrush will supply you with an entire base mesh body to start from, from then onwards you can pull out sections of the head to give it ears, etc.

Might be worth a go. It should help you improve your anatomy too. :) Good luck!
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Guerreiro, are you using existing human anatomy reference at all if you're using a human body for the cat?
  • VGuerreiro
    Options