Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Animation Topology

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Starkist polycounter lvl 9
Hi there folks,

I'm currently working on a base mesh for humanoid characters, and I want to set it up with optimal topology for animation.

I set a goal of ~30k tris as a limit for a character, this base mesh at the moment is ~4.7k.

I want to get some crits & tips to improve it. I believe I can shove more tris since I'm rather far from my limit.

Also, I looked @ this vid from "The Last of Us": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myZcUvU8YWc

They show rather interesting rigs and tricks, and I see they use a lot of bones.
I wonder how much bones should I limit myself to.

Any tips are welcome, thanks!

lnweodhyjrdz.jpg
wknqhxjzzroz.jpg
zlwoijmmgb3z.jpg
zmzmn0mdjzfi.jpg
itzlmnz5oyx2.jpg
thbmdd4gzozl.jpg

Thanks folks!

Replies

• skodone
    Offline / Send Message
    skodone polycounter lvl 2
    why did you pose the arms at 90° angle?

and im no pro but i always got told to definitely avoid triangles at the bentding areas
  • MattyWS
    Offline / Send Message
    MattyWS polycounter lvl 11
    skodone wrote: »
    and im no pro but i always got told to definitely avoid triangles at the bentding areas
    Why? For joints especially, tris can be used for wedging. Like the elbow would have more polys than the inside of the arm (opposite side of the elbow?) and you'd need tris to achieve that.

That said I'm not primarily a rigger or animator either.

EDIT: I made sure by looking it up after I posted, there's no set rule but this explains things rather well I think.

limb_deformations.gif
  • Wolthera
    Offline / Send Message
    Wolthera polycounter lvl 5
    uhm... doesn't that image tell you that the last example is what to avoid?
  • MattyWS
    Offline / Send Message
    It's an extreme example of what not to do, the best example still has tri's though.
  • Starkist
    Offline / Send Message