Home General Discussion

How long did it take before you got a industry job..

sublime tool
Offline / Send Message
beefaroni sublime tool
.. that helped you grow as an artist?

Title was too long.

Replies

• Jonas Ronnegard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jonas Ronnegard polycount sponsor
    I think it's very hard to not grow at all, if you are not doing something totally different then art at work.
  • valuemeal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    valuemeal polycounter lvl 6
    About 10 months, before I found something full time.
    At the first position I acquired I learned quite a bit about rendering.
  • reverendK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    i had a semi-industry job. but it wasn't an environment terribly conducive to growing as an artist.

worked there for 2 years...but from the time i graduated school to my actual industry job about 18 months or so.
  • Francois_K
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Francois_K interpolator
    Don't have one yet. Graduated 2 months ago.

Looks like it's gonna take a while.
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    little bit over a year after graduation. I spent at least 3 months polishing the **** out of my reel (thanks to my family for supporting me!).

At the first job I learned alot from the character team's lead about work attitude, sticking to deadlines, professionalism and facial anatomy. Thanks Ted, you were a great lead!

And I've been growing ever since. The time I stop growing I'll leave this industry. Not because there's nothing any more to learn, but because I can't catch up any more ;)
  • reverendK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    I"v seen people get picked up at ravensoft..bioware..bungie, etc. right out of school. Nose to the grindstone and get that portfolio shining. then apply places every. single. day.
  • easterislandnick
    Options