Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand Painted look critique

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
L4TF2 polycounter lvl 2
Need some Critique on my hand painted look. I'm not sure what I'm do with it.

tumblr_ndylasOHoz1r6r4ymo1_500.png

Replies

• Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    Hmm. I'm not an expert on the "hand painted" look, that being said I think the biggest weakness of these rocks you've painted is that they're just not really responding to what appears to be your light source very well. You've got some highlighted edges that appear to be located at intersecting "planes", but they're not really painted with those planes in mind. The cracks seem to be in weird places/have weird shapes, I also think the range of colors and values present makes them look a little metallic.

I'm not sure if it's any help to you, but I actually did a painting a while ago that's got some big chunky, planeish type rocks in it. I feel like they turned out "ok", I remember having to do several passes at them. I'm certain there are many other, probably better examples online as well.

To summarize, the main things at the moment would be that I'd dial back your highlights and try to focus on rendering the rocks based on their shapes/noticeable planes.
  • L4TF2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    L4TF2 polycounter lvl 2
    tumblr_ndyswxzkuq1r6r4ymo1_500.png

I think this is better.
  • Gannon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gannon interpolator
    Much better, Be careful with your horizon line there. It makes the rocks look like they're sitting on two sides of a peaked roof.
  • L4TF2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    L4TF2 polycounter lvl 2
    I just put the horizon there for testing.
  • L4TF2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    L4TF2 polycounter lvl 2
    tumblr_ndz3b5yj141r6r4ymo1_1280.png

Drew some swords but I don't know much about swords.
  • eCupcakes
    Options