Home General Discussion

Gauging interest - Construction Details Blog/Book for CG Artists

I've been considering a project for a while now and I'm not sure if there is enough interest in the subject.

I've seen a lot of games and cg environments that lack details in the construction. Artists will often leave out things like fire alarm systems, emergency lighting, street lighting, etc. They will also mis-place or place incorrect amounts of other equipment. They also don't understand what is behind the surfaces so when walls are damaged or under construction, there is just blank space.

I have seven years of experience installing and repairing fire alarm systems, electrical (both commercial and industrial) and elevators. I've worked side-by-side with other trades so I know a lot about how a building is put together.

I also have ten years of experience in games as a tech artist and another four years of independent asset production.

What I don't know is if this info would be valuable or just not wanted by anyone else.

I'm thinking about making a blog or e-book with:
- examples of common problems with renders and games missing construction details or getting details wrong
- info on what should be there and how it shoud look
- enough info on what is behind the equipment/walls so if it is missing it doesn't look fake
- photos of real world construction details
- examples of models, textures, lighting and scenes based on real-world
- how to fake/cheat and why you might need to cheat for gameplay

Any feedback is appreciated.

Replies

• Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    the problem is that a lot of people don't bother to research or think about how things are constructed in the real world. This is something we often hear from our clients - everyone really wants artists, from concepters to modelers, to think how items are constructed in the real world.