Home General Discussion

iPad - recommended apps?

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Gmanx polycounter lvl 19
I'm new to the iPad (16gb iPad2 - had it about a week - it's a gift) and wondered what apps people would recommend for it.

I'm looking primarily at texture manipulation and painting apps - preferably something with layers etc.

I don't expect it can handle any 3d, or can it?

Can I expect it to be a useful tool in any aspect of games work?

I'm strictly a PC person so I'm feeling my way and learning as I go. The lack of a visible file structure is already driving me nuts. lol

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    ArtRage & Sketchbook Pro are the two decent art apps I'm aware of but I don't think you're really going to do much production work on it.

The music production apps are pretty amazing, I've got too many to name off the top of my head right now, I can share my opinions when I get home.
  • Arkadius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arkadius polycounter lvl 13
    Procreate is suppose to be pretty good, I Preordered one of those new wacom pens for the Ipad. Once it comes in I'll buy an Ipad and procreate. :P Heard Ipad air 2 is around the corner too!

http://procreate.si/

http://www.wacom.com/en/us/creative/intuos-creative-stylus-2
  • Chimp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chimp interpolator
    For painting: Procreate by FAR.

And, no not really. Nothing I've ever done on the iPad has REALLY contributed toward development further than as rough concept art, and I've been painting on it since the iPad 1 launched.

So far as music? It's more capable, especially when you plug in a midi keyboard but again, it only really works for sketches - anything remotely good I've done on there has ended up getting transferred to the computer and reworked in Logic.