Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-Fi Modular Environment

wdcstudios
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
wdcstudios polycounter lvl 8
This is my first project using UE4 and I haven't used UDK either. I'm a 3d artist looking to get into environment art so at the moment I'm focusing on the visuals and learning everything as I go. So far I have to say I'm blown away by what can be produced in UE4.

Goals
Understand the modular environment modeling workflow.
Start to learn UE4.
Find a flexible tile-able texture workflow.
Create a flexible shader.
Create a flexible hard surface texture set.

Plans
For now my plan is to look into adding FPS controls and recording a walk through to show what I have in motion.
Next will be to add some functional details like pressure gauges and control panels.
Learn how to use vertex painting to make material variations.
Learn about decals to produce more variation.
Once I'm happy with the corridor modular kit I'll move onto some kits to create connecting computer rooms, larger engine areas and a bridge.

Any and all feedback is welcome.

Modeling // 3ds Max

Texturing // Ddo, Ndo, Photoshop

Rendering // Unreal Engine 4 (game engine)
ue4_1a.png
ue4_1b.png
ue4_1c.png
ue4_texture_sheets.png

Replies

• BasicallyNormal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BasicallyNormal polycounter lvl 7
    Off to a good start. I think right now the textures are very noisy, and some large scale detail would do your walls some good. Using masks and trying to be technically efficient is fine, just don't let that be a limiting factor in making something look good.
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9