Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fallout 4: A realtime tribute

Last update in the bottom post to understand why the video is gone along with some closure for those who were interested in this topic and some farewell Fallout tribute images.

Greetings, everyone! There is so much awesome work here and I'd like to share something of mine with you, instead of just stalking everyone's beautiful achievements. The whole tribute took about 3-4 days of hobby work to put together, the tech has been an ongoing effort for multiple years (much of it theoretical, actual research in EM theory and figuring out computational models).

Fallout 4: A Realtime Tribute

Essentially, as I played Fallout New Vegas the other day, I thought about how this game would look on the engine I've been working on for some time now. The video linked below is the answer to my question.

bqOnYcY.jpg

To preface this, I am a software engineer first, a patron of the arts second.

As I'm also a huge gamer, a given considering the industry I'm in (development of realtime rendering architectures), After a few years of tenacious development of rendering theory and implementation, I decided to pay tribute to one of my favorite games ever — Fallout. So, I developed a small environment and shoved it into my downgraded rendering architecture (currently figuring out something that works on the PS4). I believe it is only sensible to use the version that most people can run, rather than having the Watch Dogs fiasco.

ZxiGXTe.jpg

As you can see, my username is Username. That should indicate something about my desire for privacy and the reason I do not wish to disclose to what company or project I'm attached to, or the usual suspect of not wanting to be associated with something that sucks. Also, it might be construed as an advertisment for my rendering architecture and it's irrelevant essentially.

So, primary "features" of the downgrade:
  • Precomputation of diffuse global illumination (spherical harmonics)