Home General Discussion

When are you ready to start working?

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jakob Gavelli interpolator
Hey!

How do you know when you're ready to start working in the industy?

I've been wanting to work in the games industry for as long as I can remember, and a few years ago I narrowed it down to Art. But there's this overhanging fog of doubt that I can't seem to clear. I have firm grasp of how getting the job works, portfolio is everything, but having a nice portfolio doesn't necessarily mean you can work, right?

I dread that I would get a gig where I'm asked to perform a task I've never done before. And the chance of that is pretty damn high, because that's essentially what any creative job is about. Problem solving.

There's almost an infinite amount of things that I've never modelled, painted or sculpted. So it's impossible to be ready for whatever gets thrown at you.

What if you get tasked with a texture and you simply can't paint it?

What if your sculpting is actually really slow compared to industry standards?

There's so many parameters, how can you possibly know when you're ready?

Replies

• Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    The studio that hires you will usually be aware of that. I wouldn't let it hold you back. That said, you can always gain that experience by working on an indie game.
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Unless you're being tested, your lead will be aware of your limitations. And it's a 2 way street .. don't be afraid to tell your lead that you can't handle the task you've been given. A good lead will either give it to someone else or work with you because they believe you CAN do it with a little guidance.
  • Zack Maxwell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Maxwell interpolator
    Huh... my original intent was actually to try working on freelance gigs first to get more experience.