Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hoping for critiques

Hey guys im new to poly count but im hoping to star participating in this community :). Anyway i was wondering if i could get any critiques on what to do to improve my work and the presentably of my work, all advice is much appreciated
here is th elink to my portfolio http://www.juliennema.com/

Replies

• Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    Hey there Julien. Don't know how valuable my words could be to you, but I'll give you my thoughts looking over your website.

First I'll say that I think your work has a sort of charm to it, which is good. It seems fairly consistent and I like the lighthearted feeling most of your paintings give off.

More focusing on critiques, first I think your portfolio could use some trimming. Could be personal bias talking a bit, but I think a small, solid portfolio looks better than a large one that's a bit all over the place. On your front page you have more finished illustrations right alongside things like this, which really is something I'm pretty sure you could trim out entirely (was it a t-shirt design, I guess?) So, primarily, I think you could benefit from going through your work and deciding what's really solid, and what could be removed. There are actually a couple things in your sketch page that I think show more skill and understanding than things on your main portfolio page - this and this feel more solid than this, to my eyes. I understand maybe those two sketches used more reference, but they still look like they were done by someone with more experience.

I think combining the nice, studied efforts from some of the noted sketches, with the charming, adorable illustration ideas, could make for some really cool stuff.
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    +1 to trimming your portfolio.
    There's a lot of work here, and some of it is notably better than others.