Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(HELP NEEDED) S.S. Nomad Control Station

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Joltya polycounter lvl 10
Hello polycounters! So I'm a student, and this is a scene I have been slowly working on for a while now for my portfolio.

cYno8Yc.jpg
Ot3Qzl0.jpg
FVH29t4.jpg

The idea for this was to be a game ready environment rendered in UDK or Unity. This is my first environment piece, and I was really confused about how I should go about doing it, so I just decided to model everything in high poly and break everything up once I get to the low poly stages. However, now that I'm getting close to that point, I'm afraid I may have seriously screwed myself over with this workflow. I'm told that I should have built this modularly, but I honestly don't know how this would be built modularly (seeing as how all of the walls are so different). Even if I am able to break it down and make the walls modular, I'm not sure if I can even get the pieces to fit together in UDK since I didn't consider the grid system that it uses when I started. Right now, I'm being discouraged from putting this scene in an engine and just rendering it in mental ray or Vray or something, but that's not what I wanted from this scene and I don't want to go that route.

If there's anyone out there can tell me how I can salvage this, I would be extremely grateful.

Replies

• pixelpatron
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelpatron polycounter
    I think your right, you should of done this modular, yet it'd be a pain in the ass to restart when your pretty much ready to move onto the next phase....I'd suggest adding more to the model and going this route. Turn model into 3-d cut out.....Good luck.

doors_02.jpg
  • Joltya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joltya polycounter lvl 10