Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

character idea first digital painting

hello guys,
kinda awkward, first time with a digital painting, the idea is a blood witch.

this is my first time and it took me a wile to finish her, i would love to hear what u think Are the lines accurate enough, does it look finished, what can I improve, how long should a painting like this take, also i would love to hear if there is a faster way to do the shadowing.

ty,
bunny.

http://oi60.tinypic.com/2zpmb9e.jpg

2zpmb9e.jpg

http://oi61.tinypic.com/2v2cfao.jpg

2v2cfao.jpg

Replies

• katana
    Offline / Send Message
    katana polycounter lvl 14
    Before getting into clothing, first get comfortable with drawing anatomy. Once you fully understand how to get the poses you want, then you'll move on to cloth and how that cloth responds to forms underneath.

Then you'll look into working with greyscale values to accentuate volume.

Then color theory and after that color.

If you follow these general guidelines and with a few years of practice, working every day, then you'll be more successful with your ideas.

As for this one, I must admit there are too many things to talk about. I will say that I can see what you had in mind for an idea though. Were you working from reference? Or was it from your imagination?
  • Two Listen
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    Hey there. That's not actually terrible for your first digital piece. I remember mine and I tried some similar things.

Your anatomy isn't actually terrible, things like waist/shoulder ratio look way off, the collarbone/neck/face area looks a little weird, etc. Definitely some more studying and figure practices could be of benefit, but that's pretty much a given for most artists.