Home Technical Talk

Snappers Facial Rig

quad damage
Offline / Send Message
littleclaude quad damage
Snappers Facial Rig, I saw this and thought I would share it with you guys.

[ame]www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qeOFibRmoo&app=desktop[/ame]

Snappers Facial Rig for Maya (also available for 3dsMax) + dx11 or Cg skin shader with multiple wrinkles maps + Rig Manager to handle selection and to create/save poses.

e-mail: info@snapperstech.com

Snappers-Facial-Rig-2.jpg

Replies

• deohboeh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    deohboeh polycounter lvl 5
    I saw this and wanted to ask.. Is it really difficult to rig like this. There are 39 + 3 joints. And I an quite sure many blend shapes and wrinkle maps. But other than it being a bit time consuming is there any rigging in this that looks difficult to do? I am a novice. So I would like to know how this is a really good rig not because of the blend shapes or wrinkle maps but because of the rig.

I am sorry if my phrasing is wrong, but I really want to know.
  • antweiler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    antweiler polycounter lvl 8
    I guess in this case most detail and fidelity comes from excessive use of blendshapes and matching wrinkle maps. The artists either used face scans and put a lot of efford into studying and matching the character
    you can archieve rigs with similar depth of controls using joint based rigs. The disadvantage is, all the efford is for exactly one character, while with a purely joint based solution you can share your rig for various characters, which might be more suitable for games productions. (of course one doesnt easiliy get the quality of this example)
  • huatang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for your sharing.:)
  • Greg DAlessandro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Greg DAlessandro polycounter lvl 6
    how is he making the deformations that smooth?
    how is the wrinkle detail showing/unshowing depending on the deformation in the face?