Home Technical Talk

Getting into 3d scanning

Gestalt
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Gestalt polycounter lvl 11
I've been looking into 3d scanning lately but I'm relatively new to it.

If anyone here has any experience with 3d scanning, what would you recommend and what have you found from your experience? If you have any thoughts on setups or any advice, please share.

Ideally I would like to keep things as inexpensive as possible while still keeping the data reliable enough that it can be used (even if there needs to be some cleanup).

In general I haven't had good experience with photogrammetry. I'm really not a fan of Autodesk one, 123D Catch, where you upload the pictures to the cloud. That seems more geared to hobbyist 3d printing and sharing, and the results weren't very good. Things might have changed but I'm still apprehensive about it. It gave similar quality to using the old kinect to build a mesh (also lacking definition and accuracy).

Recently I've tried doing a budget version of an Agisoft PhotoScan setup. I made a light tent and used a rotating christmas tree stand to create a slowly rotating pedestal. I was hoping that I could get away with using one Canon t2i for the setup, at least to test things out, but even when the data was good the photogrammetry wasn't giving great results.

It was also incredibly time consuming. Each image needed to be masked for best results, and while I'm sure this could be automated with a good setup, I had not prepared for it. The processing of the data also takes a really long time if you're trying to get decent quality, and you aren't even sure if your scan will come out.