Home Technical Talk

Thoughts on this computer?

StephenVyas
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
StephenVyas polycounter lvl 18
It's been 10 yrs since I last bought a pc.. Guess it's 'bout time to pick up a new one

It'll mostly be used as a workstation. Viewport performance is important, as well as render speeds.
Being able to play new games again is a bonus!

Thoughts on this one? Am i missing out on some must-haves? Would you choose something else @ that budget? etc..
http://pc.ncix.com/ncixpc_new/ncixpc.cfm?uuid=BEDDE810-1841-4B92-8C8D6E5F5CBDECE7-5789978
(I have no building knowledge, so grabbing separate components is not much of an option for me)

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    So expensive! For that price I'd want a 256GB SSD.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You can build similar yourself for somewhere in the range of 50-75% of that price.

Unless you plan to do crazy overclocking (or are super anal retentive about system noise) there is no need for watercooling etc, (and watercooling in itself is a risk, what if it leaks all over your hardware?)

The general specs there are quite good, its just that you can get the same performance and pay a lot less for it.

-edit, sorry I didn't see the fine print, even if you can't/don't want to build your own, you should be able to find a similarly speced pre-built system for less. Sorry I can't give any recommendations there as I build my own systems.
  • CordellC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CordellC polycounter lvl 11
    if you're not custom building just because a lack of knowledge, you still should totally do it. any system you buy wholly made is going to be overpriced by EQ's numbers pretty much