Home General Discussion

Degree Concern

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
We hear all the time about individuals making it in this industry with an art degree or no degree at all. But what about making it with an entirely different degree?

My degree is actually in Business Administration. But I have realized creating art is what I really want to do.

So my question is, would having a business degree instead of an art degree look really out of place in a resume that is trying to focus on acquiring a junior artist position? I know the weight is more focused on the actual portfolio, but still, wouldn't it raise more questions/flags from potential employers than it would actually help my cause?

Any thoughts? Am I just being paranoid?

Thanks.

Replies

• MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Tobbo wrote: »
    Any thoughts? Am I just being paranoid?

Thanks.

A Business degree is pretty good as leverage in my opinion. If you have a portfolio-that-gets-jobs and a leadership personality, the degree will definitely help you rise up in the long run (maybe Producer career track).

Figure out how you can use it to your advantage in your interviews. Can you say you showed hard work and commitment in finishing and graduating....etc.
  • VelvetElvis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VelvetElvis polycounter lvl 12
    You are being paranoid. When I hire someone, it's the portfolio first. I might ask a question why you have a degree in something different, but to me what matters is that you completed a program. I'm sure you can draw parallels with what you learned and how you can use those in a studio.

My brother has a degree in landscape architecture, yet has never set foot inside a landscape architecture studio. Instead, he found his passion as a firefighter. But just having that degree helped him as it shows completion and a general rounded education.
  • garcellano
    Options