Home General Discussion

How hard is it to create your own portfolio site?...

I know there are lots of sites that allow you to create your own website. I am currently using carbonmade (Like many others). I've seen a few people using dedicated blogging sites. A few people using Wix and other things like that...

But to me, the portfolio sites that stand out the most, are the ones that have been created by the artist's themselves.

The general style seems to be graphic and simplified. A name and banner at the top, perhaps a logo. A gallery section and an about section with the work displayed in horizontal banners running down the page.

My question is, how hard is it to make one of these sites?

I have basic knowledge in packages like flash and illustrator, but I'm assuming that you need to pickup something like dreamweaver? I'm a bit sick of my carbonmade site. Even on a paid subscription, the limitations in terms of video embedding and image resolution are pretty bad.

Any pointers on what I should be doing in order to make sites like the ones I have linked below?

scotthomer.co.uk

http://bryn-brandon.co.uk/

Thanks.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    It's not hard at all. Webdesign like this is more like scripting that programing, you can always right click a website and view source to see how its made. You can get a simple site working within an hour even if it's your first time trying it out. A one page site can be done in a day.

If you have chrome copy and paste the quoted text to view the source code for the site.

http://bryn-brandon.co.uk/ "view-source:http://silenth.net/bryn/"

http://peperaart.com/ "view-source:http://peperaart.com/"
  • Autocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autocon polycounter lvl 15
    I made my site in Dreamweave, was a piece of cake. I have no knowledge of web stuffs or scripting at all.