Home Technical Talk

Normalmap baking problem on a pipe segment

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Xazas polycounter lvl 7
I have little experience in baking normal maps and this piece is giving me a big headache.
How should I layout the UVs and how should I approach baking such an object? Below are my highpoly, my lowpoly and my really bad result so far. I would really love to get some help here. I used Blender so far for baking my maps and recently tried xNormal but sadly with the same result.

2tma.jpg

mei7.jpg

owy9.png

Replies

• neilberard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    neilberard polycounter lvl 17
    Haha, I see you have discovered cylinders and how much they suck for baking normal maps.
    They is a whole breakdown of how to fix this problem. http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81154
  • .Wiki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    .Wiki polycounter lvl 8
    First try to align your UV shells and edges to horizontal and vertical axes. This will give you cleaner results.

This waviness can be cleaned in any image manipulation programm, just use a smudge tool to clean them up a bit.
  • Xazas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xazas polycounter lvl 7
    Thank you both for the advice and the hind to the very helpful thread. With another UV unwrap and the right alignment of the UV shells I got a much better result.
  • BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    .Wiki wrote: »

This waviness can be cleaned in any image manipulation programm, just use a smudge tool to clean them up a bit.

NEVER do this. It breaks your normal map accuracy and you should never have a reason to do it if you bake it properly in the first place.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12