Home General Discussion

Maya subdiv modeling - creasing vs adding more edge loops/topology

I'm new to maya and game design in general, so apologies if this question is very newb.

I'm currently working on training my subdiv modeling skills(pressing the 3 key to see smoothed version of model) to train on making a high res version of my polygonal mesh. So I wondered what your thoughts were on using the creasing feature vs adding edge loops/more edges(such as in this link: http://wiki.polycount.com/SubdivisionSurfaceModeling) in context to game designing?
Would you use creasing to create normal maps of your models?

What are the pros and cons of creasing? So far I know that creasing just makes lighter models and allows for more faster hi-res creation.
However what bugs me is that it seems to create some strange surface texture at a higher setting and it looks different in the renderview(using mental ray)

I heard that some studios are stuck with using edge loops/adding edges in their pipeline, while others are just glad to be using creasing instead. But only heard of this in animation studios, not in game design.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Whatever is fastest and gives you the best results. Sometimes creasing works great and is easier and cleaner, sometimes edge loops work better. It varies model to model.
  • Decoyz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    got any examples of what kind of model or shape would be better off with edge loops than with creasing?
  • Entity
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Entity polycounter lvl 18
    If you're really clean with your loops then i'd say you're better off going that route instead of creasing. That said, once opensubdiv becomes available the idea of using edge weighting becomes more attractive.
  • Bal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bal polycounter lvl 17