Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Zbrush] Ratman (looking for crits)

Hello Polycount. Time for me to show off something i have been working on, but i need your help.

Im an enviorment/vfx artist looking to do some sculpts in my freetime, beacuse this is an area i have always wanted to be good at.

Anyhow, with this one i started off solo and probably should have made a thread right away so i could get some crits earlier on in the process.

Enough of me babbling, here is the rat man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UuoXh4cshI&feature=youtu.be

CMiDYtL.png
Ufn5pnY.png
ejxjQkI.png

And this is what im aiming for.

tyYdxnS.jpg

WHAT I NEED HELP WITH:

-Crits on general forms (this is something i struggle with beacuse i can barely draw and i usually use zbrush for like hardsurfice details)

-Anatomy ( does it look like a rat or dog? what can i change?)

Where to go from here? ( I felt the model what decent enough to post here, but i really need some advice on where to go with it. The detailing is where i am talking about. Should i work on refining major shapes or can i moove on? I also need help with finding theese details, beacuse other than wrinkles and maybe fur im totally clueless.)

Im looking foreward to any response, it would be much appriciated.

Replies

• Draconius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Draconius polycounter lvl 7
    hey man! I love these little guys. take a good look at the eyes on the concept they are way smaller then your sculpt. Smaller eyes usuually give that more ferocious look.

for the mouth its never to early to start adding some teeth it's going to be way easier to build the mouth around as teeth give it it's structure.

for the nose try to really look at the masses, it has muscles all around it so the front is going to flow in that big muscle you have behind it.