Home General Discussion

Tax Write Offs

narticus
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
narticus polycounter lvl 7
Just wondering what kinds of things you US citizens write off on your taxes. I am currently working in architecture visualization (full-time and freelance on the side), and studying game art. I am definitely writing off any computer related expenses, such as my new laptop and my internet/electric bill.

But I'm wondering if more things apply since I am studying game art and planning to make a go of it in the future. Like, could I write off a purchase of an HDTV and PS4? What about speakers for my home theater? Maybe even furniture, like a credenza, to put the tv and ps4 on?

I know I should probably ask a tax professional, but would like some feedback from people in the industry first.

Thanks

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You have to be really careful when trying to write off mixed expenses as business expenses. When I was looking into it about 2 years ago, you needed to separate living and personal expenses from business expenses as much as possible. The IRS is pretty tough and kick out any write off if its mixed with anything personal.

With internet, unless you have a separate dedicated line for your business they are probably going to toss out that write off. Same goes for Electric, they normally want a separate meter that is operating on a dedicated space. When they can't strain out personal use from business use they normally toss it out and tell you to pay up.

With equipment, you pretty much need dedicated equipment that is used only for that purpose, for it to qualify. If its also your personal laptop/computer then they normally don't allow it.

As for fuzzy expenses like your home theater speakers, you're pretty much screwed. Unless it falls within a dedicated space for your business they won't allow it.