Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Head sculpt help! - proportions, accuracy, and more!

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Stirls polycounter lvl 8
Heya, PC! Yesterday I posted an astronaut head sculpt/texture and recieved quite a lot of heavy criticism for it, as I should have. I've only ever sculpted a few heads, and said heads weren't the best. Because of that, I spent the last few hours putting this together.

This is my first time sculpting mouths and eye-lids. I know the model isn't perfect, and I'd like any of you to give it a nice dose of that sweet, sweet Polycount deconstruction we all know and love.

I have plans to change the ears, as they're not really looking great to me, as well as making the character look less "gaunt".

4HbL0.jpg

Also plenty of reference used this time, albeit just to get proportions right. Couple of ear, nose, and eye images (and a whooole lot of speed sculpt videos on Youtube).

I do apologise if I'm posting too much, I'm not sure what qualifies as spam on this site.

Replies

• Stirls
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stirls polycounter lvl 8
  • arcitecht
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arcitecht polycounter lvl 6
    I really think you're on the right track, sculpt about 200 more then see where you're at ;)

So, for me, there's basically 2 kinds of sculpting for study.

1) Attempt for anatomical correctness defined by "idealised" proportions. So, sculpting based on what you'd find in anatomy instructions, drawing books etc.

2) Real life studies based on reference. Real people break pretty much all the rules of proportion, and some things appear "wrong" when comparing anatomy texts to RL people, so there can be more sculpting what you see, rather than what you think is there (with more technical studies though, it will make more and more sense).

I would do lots of type 1 to nail planes, forms and proportions. Then do type 2 to learn how the art instruction meshes with real life practice.