Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hit me with your best shot! (A Portfolio Review)

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
neverwander polycounter lvl 7
Hey all! I graduated in June and have been busy searching for a job since then. Figured I should get another review of my portfolio to see if there is anyway I can improve it. You can check it out at:

http://www.evanhudson.com/

Also, not sure what the industry standard is, but I've done a few art tests so far, and after spending as much as a week on an art test, I turn it in and hear nothing back from them. Is this normal? This has been the case for all the art tests I've done. I don't think my art is so bad as to not even warrant a "Sorry you didn't make the grade," but what do I know?

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    Your stuff is not bad.
    But, it would be nice to have all the thumbnails on the front page, and then a separate page for that specific thumbnail will open. At the moment your 3 props all go to the same props page, that is confusing.

Don't forget to make more portfolio pieces while you're looking for work.

On those art tests, try sending a follow up email.
  • neverwander
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    neverwander polycounter lvl 7
    Thanks for the crits LMP. I've been thinking about making a seperate page for each of the props, but wanted to keep the number of clicks and backs to a minimum. Having a separate page for each of the props would allow me to fit more shots and better breakdowns though, so I'm probably just gonna go ahead with that.

As to the follow-up emails, I've been sending one a week since I turned in each art test. Still nothing. It's extremely frustrating.
  • hollandje
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hollandje polycounter lvl 4