Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Borderlands 2 UDK remake

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Javibcln polycounter lvl 8
Hi polycount!
I´ve been working on this environment and i allready finished it, its the Sanctuary fast travel station from Borderlands 2, this was my first UDK environment, so here it is:

New stuff:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Br2TQUVO8h0"]Sanctuary Remake UDK - YouTube[/ame]

950x0_p1870skgqcl261oqp1bieia110tk3.jpg

950x0_p1870skgqd1ho6tvu1f8eobr1rt4.jpg

950x0_p1870skgqd174daho1h5of74b035.jpg

Have Fun!

Replies

• nathanbarrett
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nathanbarrett polycounter lvl 6
    I really like this, I have some feedback which might be useful though. I'm by no means an expert so take my crit with a pinch of salt.

I think the lighting needs work. It looks to me like you have a skylight in the scene, which illuminates absolutely everything in a uniform way. You have those long strip lights and not a huge amount of them either, so it looks unrealistic. These lights also have a slight blue hue to them, but the lighting of the scene is pure white. There's not really any shadows in your scene. You want the viewer to be able to identify where the light is coming from instantly.

In the last shot, the black scratches on the floor texture look way too uniform and similar. Other than that, I really like the concrete textures.

Also in the last shot, the corner of the chest has a weird lighting issue going on. This is probably due to a problem with your smoothing groups and is quite a simple fix.

Just a small thing but I might slow the camera down a tad in your fly-through, It's hard to see what's going on when the cameras moving really fast and you want people to see your work.

In your 2nd shot, maybe enable emissive lighting on that prop on the left so you get a nice blue glow on the floor in front of it.

I'd also maybe add a sobel edge filter to really pop those props out.
  • Javibcln
    Options