Home General Discussion

Working towards that perfect job

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
JamesMeader polycounter lvl 9
I left University a year ago and since then I have been working on new work for my portfolio as well working a job that has no relevance in what I studied in.

I currently work at a bike shop and I don't even own a bike.

With an increase of hours I am finding it hard to get portfolio work done.

What I would like to know is how does anyone cope with the feeling your skills are being wasted in a job that has no relevance in what you want to do?

Also what jobs that have no relevance to 3d, games, art or design did you have to take to make ends meet (pay rent, bills ect)?

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I worked customer support and then IT. You just have to buckle down and really work at it and I mean really work at it. Take the amount of work you put into school and double it, do that for a year and you should be set.
  • DerekLeBrun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DerekLeBrun polycounter lvl 11
    My day job is doing 3D work for Film VFX and I actually find it harder to come home to work on game art in my personal time than it was when I worked an unrelated retail job. Something about spending every waking minute staring at a 3D app is problematic, but I would imagine people already in the industry who need to keep their portfolio up to date could face the same issue. So it could be worse, or better depending on your perspective.

I suppose if you want it bad enough, you won't sleep or indulge in recreational activities.
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    What I would like to know is how does anyone cope with the feeling your skills are being wasted in a job that has no relevance in what you want to do?
    Alcohol, mostly.