Home Technical Talk

Are the car props in Metro Last Light/The last of us high poly props baked down?

synergy11
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
synergy11 polycounter lvl 6
Good day.

I am fairly new to identifying which props I should and should not spend time creating a high poly to bake down the normals to a low poly.

I am planning on doing a few rusted car props similar to what you see in Metro and Last of Us games.

I am wondering if the car props in Metro Last Light/The last of us use high poly models baked down? Or are they just carefully constructed low poly models.

Thanks for any help or input.

http://www.gamearics.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/NTIyNTQ1NjUz_o_e3-11-metro-last-light-gameplay-trailer.jpg

http://www.onlysp.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/1337246230_the-last-of-us-cars.jpg

Replies

• MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    Something like this could be a bit of both.
    I'd say there is definitely a bake going on, but any surface detail (like grooves on the roof, tire treads, vents etc...) could be very quickly added in using nDo or something similar
  • radiancef0rge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    radiancef0rge ngon master
    Based on what we did in Second Son I would guess that a large percentage of the vehicles in Last of Us were made from reusable textures so not baked down. That being said we had a few unique cars that were uniquely unwrapped high poly and then textured.
  • synergy11
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes. I figured with so many different vehicle designs they could not have everything unique to save resources.

It's hard to tell though upon close inspection the vehicles look pretty smooth. They must be high enough poly to support the detail/shape.
  • LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13