Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

m1911a1 WIP

Hey all,
I put the m4 aside for now to focus on something a little more simpler and aimed at my current skill level. A m1911a1 pistol :thumbup:
I will restart the m4 once my highpoly skills get a little better, it's a shame to tarnish such a fine weapon with my noob skills :poly136:

These are just the blockouts:

Im currently modeling the thumb safety and grip safety, then cutting out some details on the slide among some other things.
Im assuming I would model in the "strip" things on the slide?

Ive just added the edges but Im still learning how to add supporting edges to the slide strips. In most of my references they look like a sideways "V"

1_zps253ec816.jpg

2_zpsf976c3ca.jpg

And now this one:

just a few pointers if anyone can throw me in the right direction

1. the stripy grooves on the slide will be modeled into the highpoly, they are cut INTO the gun, so should I extrude every-other edge inwardly?

2. A few references have a rounded end to the grip safety, others are square, if I was to do the rounded one, where should I put supporting edges?

3. is this a good topology for part? (the groove for the hammer will be cut into here) Not sure how the effects of cutting a square into a circle will be

3_zpsfab20937.jpg

Replies

• Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    I started this the other day too thanks to those awesome references from Dave Lee. As for your questions:

1) I just moved every other edge inwards slightly, checking to make sure it looked ok in sud-d. To make it a bit tighter I then added another loop through every face.

2) Can't really answer that, would have to see an attempt at it. I haven't started that piece myself yet either.