Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student portfolio critique

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
AkiRa polycounter lvl 6
Hi guys,

when I started uni about a month ago, I've build up a portfolio with the stuff I've done unitl now to show it to possible future employers and other contacts I may establish during uni.

Since I want to start applying for internships soon and hopefully get one where I can start when I graduated, I would like to hear what you think about my works and the website itself and how I can improve it.

www.artbysebastianschulz.com

I'am doing game art for about two and a half years now and so I have tons of stuff left to learn before I'am able to break into the industry I think.
At the moment I'am working on a new portfolio project I definatley want to finish before applying.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• artquest
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    artquest polycounter lvl 13
    Looks pretty good! A few things to think about:

- Your website background is too busy! It's distracting and disorienting when trying to view the actual art(which looks nice btw).

- Sci fi machine room: The first image (and the banner is not the strongest) re-order your images showing the strongest first (imo the strongest is the 4th one down.) Perhaps even consider removing all of the hallway images because there have been thousands of these hallway type scenes before and yours is lacking something to make it unique. It's not a bad piece, it's just not going to get you any extra points, so maybe just focusing on the machine room itself would be best. Also the text is hard to read on the banner on the main page because it's white and also happens to be over an area with bloom in the image behind it.

- Your high-poly renders look quite nice, but for some reason in the layout they take a backseat and I feel like they may not get as many views if someone had to go through your site in a hurry. Which would be a shame because they are awesome.