Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Environment Portfolio in Progress

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Soldeus polycounter lvl 10
Hi, Im Soldeus, I've been lurking for some time this website and,finally, decided to make a thread. Im going to use this thread for two purposes :

1. Keep track of my progress working on my portfolio, and to help me deal with the procrastination I've been suffering for some time xD.

2. To get some lovely critics on my work. Im still learning some steps of the workflow, so this is going to be not only a Portfolio, but a learning thread for me. So all the help I can get is more than welcome! Thanks in advance!.

As I want to be an Environment Artist I thought of making 2 small dioramas, 1 with hand-painted style, and one with realistic style. So I can learn both techniques at a decent level.

As a goal for myself I chose to make:
1. A weapon(or a small set of weapons <aka> Sword + Shield etc)
2. A vehicle
3. Some other small props to fill the dioramas

One of each for each style. So 2 vehicles, 2 weps, and so on..

To start I picked up this concept by Jim Svanbergtumblr_mks4okfroH1s6o4nio1_1280.jpg.

I just finished the highpoly of the weapon:
tNVfyGL.jpg

There is still a detail pass left, which will be done in Zbrush, or maybe directly in to the lowpoly with nDo2.(Mostly lines across the surface and small details which aren't worth of topology headaches). The handle will be made in Zbrush too.

Replies

• Cordero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cordero polycounter
    I'm not much of a hardsurface guy, but it looks like a solid start even tho the concept is a bit dull in my opinion :)

looking forward to what you'll make of this
  • jimsvanberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jimsvanberg interpolator