Home› Technical Talk

General Texturing / UV help

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
sheckee polycounter lvl 9
Hi guys, I really could use some help if possible.

I'm pretty new with Normal mapping (and whilst I'm not new with texturing, I always avoided trying to get better than just flat / photo referenced textures) I'm trying to figure it all out currently.

Here's my model :

bookBag.jpg

BH_Final_NORM.jpg

The above two images are the bake and Normal maps. I'm sure they aren't that great, it took me like 2 hours to model the high and low poly models, but the baking took me 6 hours to figure out (in the end I baked it out into about 7 different maps and combined them together using the exploding method.)

I also baked out Occlusion maps for all of the pieces to overlay with my texture.

Here are my UVs :

OutUV.jpg

It's made in 1024x1024. As you can see I've put all the books and the carrier on one UV sheet. So essentially the elements are tiny on the sheet.
What happens then is that when I start painting, for example, the stitching, they are very pixelated, I even set the Filter type of the texture to Mipmap.

booktexture.jpg
texturingStart.jpg

My question is, with an asset like this; should I break it down to multiple UV maps? Or increase the Texture size (Which seems silly for such a small asset essentially) to give context, this asset will have straps and be carried by a 'hero' character as it were. I already accept I'll probably have to rebake these normals, areas like the circle in the large book didn't bake so well because of too few polygons.

If someone could essentially break down the approach to baking such an object, and how to do so without it looking so low resolution when texturing.

Also, the stitching will look very flat. Would it be better for me to either model the stitches (or try to do them in zbrush) and bake them? or paint the textures and Crazybump/nDop the normals from that?

Thanks, I hope this all makes sense!

sheckee.