Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted NOOB textures

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Iciban polycounter lvl 10
So i've been a big fan of handpainted textures and been always wanted to try. This is my first time doing handpainted textures for this style, so still adjusting to it.
The style i'm going for is more towards the game Wow and League. I'm planning to do 1 or 2 more weapons thats just diffuse. After going to go for darksiders style where there would be normal maps. After going for ghibli style.
I'm currently not too happy with the leather and with the metal bumps. Nevertheless, here's my current progress. Critiques are encouraged!

PiobxWq.jpg

Replies

• shrogg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shrogg polycounter lvl 12
    I recently started up hand painting and from what i have learned, you need to be bold about things, The leather could probably do with larger stitches (i mean far larger) but fewer of them.
    There is also currently no obvious sign of how the leather is being held onto the metal frame, so perhaps some rivets or something similar could be used there. Or if the bone/tusks are holding them there, then put some strong looking leather straps around the part where it connects to the leather.
  • Sir Apple
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sir Apple polycounter lvl 8
    The color values in your reference are a lot more contrasting then in your texture. Really push those values and give it some contrast, doing so will really make it pop. Right now your texture is a too flat.
  • Iciban
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the feedback. The ref originally was black and white. I just did quick paintover to get an overall feel for the colours. Yea, I keep hearing the contrast is usually much higher.
  • Jessica Dinh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jessica Dinh polycounter lvl 10