Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Photo Realistic M4A1 (W.I.P)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Three65 polycounter lvl 6
I feel like I am betting a dead horse by doing this model, however I am new to modeling both High Poly and Game Ready modeling to boot. However I think the M4A1 is a good overall gun to start with since it has a lot of interesting shapes to it and poses a good challenge. So I am looking to do something that is photo realistic as I can get. Any feedback you have or I would love to hear. Also one question I had since this gun is so different on both sides, how would I go about welding it back together once I have completed both sides? Is it just a matter of matching edges back up and adding to one side or the other to get it to work?

Here is the wireframe views, there is a lot going on but I guess they don't call it high poly modeling for no reason at all :poly122:

leftwire.jpg

rightwire.jpg

Here are some quick renders I did in Vray, the nice thing about rendering is that is shows you things that you may have missed, such as some pinching and verts that are a little out of line. I have already fixed the few things I noticed while doing these renders. But perhaps you guys can point out other things I missed.

leftsideg.jpg

rightsidep.jpg
leftper1.jpg

leftper2.jpg

leftper3.jpg

rightsideper1.jpg

rightsideper2.jpg

Replies

• joeriv
    Offline / Send Message
    joeriv polycounter lvl 7
    you might want to keep the amount of loops/edges down in some places to better be able to control your mesh.

that + together with accuracy, see the round piece around the trigger (the curve closest to where the magazine goes in).
    that is supposed to be round, where in your model it has gone flat, probably because of adding edge loops and not making them follow the curve.

might also want to recheck this part and how it "connects"
    90067784.jpg