Home Technical Talk

Height Map and World Machine

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
genwu polycounter lvl 7
Hello all - Hoping to get some feedback from all the talent out there. It's my first time using World Machine and first time trying out terrains of any sort.

To follow along with ze little graphic provided - I've attached the test sculpt from zbrush > displacement map from maya and my plane > and the strange stepping effect I'm getting from my world machine builds.

Am I missing some option in world machine to smooth that stepping out? Or is my Height map just incorrect?

Any feedback or help is much appreciated! :)

ulcQX314

Replies

• Santewi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Use 16-bit images. 8-bit images can have only 256 different values per channel, and because heightmaps are in grayscale that leaves you with only 256 different possible height values.
  • genwu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    genwu polycounter lvl 7
    Hey Santewi, Thank you for the reply. I have imported it as a 16-bit tiff and unfortunately still get that strange stepping effect. Any ideas?
  • CheeseOnToast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CheeseOnToast greentooth
    Why generate the map in Maya? Zbrush does a great job of generating artifact-free 16-bit displacements like this. I've used them in World Machine with no problems. Make sure perspective is off, make sure your camera is snapped to look straight down at the terrain and have a document size that matches the resolution of the heightmap you want. Hit the "frame" button to fill the document with the tool. Then in the alpha palette, hit the "grabdoc" button for an instant heightmap. Make sure you export it in a 16-bit format, such as .tif.
  • genwu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    genwu polycounter lvl 7