Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand Painted: Legend Of Aang, Space Sword

SoulWind
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
SoulWind polycounter lvl 11
Hi!

This is my first time posting work to Polycount, and my first attempt at hand painted textures!

I figured a weapon with a few different materials to it would be a good starting point. Being a fan of Avatar and Legend Of Korra I figured something from either series would be fun.

Blog_Title_Pic.jpg

Reference

I gathered up my reference's including some of the original concepts and sketches of the blade, some shots of the show, and even some fanart.

Space_Sword_Ref_Moodboard1_Censored.jpg

Space_Sword_Ref_Moodboard2_Censored.jpg

I've tried to censor out any particularly spoilerific content, although some of you might just be too clever. Sorry if that's the case!

I even managed to find the martial arts consultant for the show, and after asking if I could see the original sword it was based on, he kindly obliged!

Forged-Folded-Han-Dynasty-Sword-Jian-TZ52371-.jpg

A big thanks to Sifu Kisu!

My own concept/sketch

This was my breakdown + redesign of the handle. It would go on to have further changes made to it.

HandleDesign.jpg

Modelling

Modelling using the concept as a Proportion Reference;
Unwrapped;
Finished Model With Additional Clip On Sheath.

Model_Montage_zps4236ad8e.jpg

Texturing

The Handle

At this early stage I wasn't really happy with anything. Especially not the golden guard at the top.

In the end I found that painting cord didn't work and a cloth wrap would be better. After a lot of repainting I made some progress.

After much updating I managed to get the right look. I refined the matrix of light fabric wrapping around the top and added shadows underneath them to make them seem more 3D.

Handle_Montage_zpsbc64461f.jpg

The Sheath Cap

I really wasn't certain how the sheath or the cap would turn out as all my thought had gone into the sword.