Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio feedback needed (for MIGS Career Fair)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pioldes polycounter lvl 5
Hello!

I am a recent graduate trying to get a place into the industry. I wanted to have feedback about my portfolio, since I'm going to attend the Montreal Internation Game Summit Career Fair in a few weeks.

I'm going to go out and say it right away, yes, I do know that I have both props and characters on my website, and that it would be best to stick to one and perfect it more.

That being said, while I really enjoy doing characters, I also know that my anatomy skills are far from perfect and that it's incredibly hard to find an entry-level job in this particular field. Not to say that I dislike props and environments, far from that, I just happened to have more character-centric projects during my classes. Which I always found very odd since character artist seem to be quite a saturated and demanding(experience-wise) field.

Anyway, the website (as well as some pieces) are still getting worked on. I have an interior environment featuring the old man in the WIP section on the way, as well as a cartoony zombie for the Mixamo contest. Again, yes, very character-centric, but I'm slowly moving out of that. Next project is going to be a sci-fi environment since I didn't really touch on that.

What do you think? Also, in all honesty, do I seem to have the level of skill to get into the industry? (I really have no idea where I'm at and what would be the requirements for a junior).

Thanks a lot!

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    These are my opinions :)

First off, take out the Work In Progress. A portfolio is your showcase. Only the best of your best should be on it. A bunch of WIPs shows that sometimes you can't just finish a proj.