Home General Discussion

how's your hand? how's your neck?

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Aga22 polycounter lvl 11
ahh...age is catching up to us it seems. i discover that a lot of animators here are fairly young (and hugely talented i discover) which means they havent had the chance to deteriorate like us old guys. I'm 34, started with imagine and later lightwave on the amiga. i've been doing 3d for 20 years now.

the reason im writing this post is i've started to get a really annoying pain in my left palm which is coming from my elbow. i talked to a doctor and he said my neck is at fault. wut? yes. its from looking down at the monitor all the time, day in day out. so i put a frozen pad on my elbow per doctors orders, and used my old books (learn maya 2.0 and max 4) to prop my monitor up to eye level, just in case i learn to stand a little better, and avoid taking medication.

so , my advice: take care of your posture guys and gals. its worth to invest in a good high backed chair, keep your elbows on the desk, etc etc. i know a lot of people in the game industry work crazy hours, take care of yourselves!

anybody with similar aches / injuries? :poly122: :poly121:

Replies

• Sam Hatami
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sam Hatami polycounter lvl 16
    Yep. I have a inflammation i my back (middle of back, below the scapulas), which is reducing. I also "feel" the clicks, when my arm is getting tired, in my forarm. Even if you have good posture, elbows on the desk and correct eye-to-screen position, you're bound to get low-intensity fatigue inflammations in muscles due to shortening of muscles, individual anatomy imbalances and low blood flow in wrists. :P

What I do to remedy this is:

- Weight train (both heavy and light):