Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First "finished" game asset: greek pillar

Hi everyone,

Some of you may have seen my thread over at tech talk asking about this pillar I've been trying to make. After hours and hours of reading, watching tuts, blood, sweat, tears (lots of tears), trial and error I'm finally at this point of my model. I've taken as many screenshots as I could and my normal texture and uv layout in hopes that this can be looked at by some of the greats of the forum so that I can be steered in the right direction, and fix any bad habits I may have developed during the course of making this simple yet annoying asset. Before going on, I have to confess something. as I mentioned in my other thread I'm totally new to this game development field, and from what I understand there's no standard workflow. For all of the texturing, all I did was bake out a normal map and AO map, and let nDo2 do a lot of the converting for me (another AO map and cavity map).. is this frowned upon in the industry? should I not make this a habit? :( All of the polys are placed in smoothing group 1 for both models, by the way. If there's anything I'm forgetting to mention please let me know. Ah, let's just get to the pics already

The first photo shows the polys/tris/verts of the HP model, and the second shows the same stats of the LP model. The third is the same two simply side by side. I don't know what's up with that weird black line going down my LP model, but if i spin around it, it just moves all around with the model. I'm guessing it's just the 3ds max lighting?

Replies

• nick2730
    Id bet its smoothing groups
  • Gwee
    My diffuse is simply made up of my color map, AO maps, and cavity maps. They seem to be working. However, for some reason my normal map is doing nothing to my model :( and I can't figure out why. UVs and textures are all 2048x2048
  • ghostwriter
    Post your normal map (just a thumbnail of it like 512x512)
  • Benjam
    Offline / Send Message